What kind of homeschooler are you?

First I have to say thank-you. I’ve had several new followers from older post even though I haven’t written in what feels like ages. I am truly humbled. We have a lot going on right now, I’m trying to get my degree finished a long with the homeschool year, so I’m not sure how often or when I will get it write, but it is a priority of mine. Prayerfully, I will be able to write at least once a week.

So in my “down time” a.k.a. sitting on the couch with Skinnybutt watching TV late at night, I school threw Pinterest. I love pinterest, and don’t know many who don’t (besides Skinnybutt, he gets to many projects.) Anyhow… I pin many pins on different homeschool topics. You never know what you might need and when. If the military taught me anything it was to be prepared, and make a decision right wrong or indifferent. So lets just say you need a topic on homeschooling, its in my “Homeschool Mom” board.

I have noticed something as I’m scrolling down, some of the pins are “what kind of homeschooler are you?” “Whats your teaching method?” These are supposed to give different insights into different methods of homeschooling. I agree there are different methods, and it would help to know them starting out. That way you can hopefully find the way that works best for you, and your family. HOWEVER, as a mom with a child who is dyslexic and another who is ADHD these bug me. We can just call it a personal pet peeve.

My method: GET IT DONE. No I’m not telling my kids to get it done with no instruction (okay, I might with math, but we use Math-U-See, and they watch the DVD.) Its more like I’m going to do what I have to do to teach my kids, so they can learn and be productive members of society. Get it done is just easier to say.

2 out of 4 have different learning needs. I need different methods for 2 out of 4. And truth to be told once the babies start “school” they will add in another 2 methods. I had to teach Flounder how to read by teaching him how to spell. How is that even possible? Now he is reading CVC words, but he is also spelling them too. Thumper has had to be taught to ready by just taking it day by day, not stopping and not being discouraged, her method did not work for Flounder at all.

So we don’t get harped down on methods, because we just get it done. We find what works for us and we roll with it. If we find we need to change it up, we do, and we don’t look for progress until we find what works.

Leave a Reply

